A family-friendly stay in Kawartha Lakes awaits you at this holiday home. You'll be 0.1 km (0.1 mi) from Sturgeon Lake and 10.8 km (6.7 mi) from Dunsford Golf Club. Highlights at this holiday home include a kitchen, a washing machine and free WiFi. .You can enjoy a TV with a DVD player, and home features 2 bathrooms, a patio and a coffee/tea maker. In-room dining is easy with a kitchen that comes equipped with a fridge, a microwave and a stovetop. A hairdryer and an iron/ironing board are also available. .Sights within a 20-minute drive of this Kawartha Lakes holiday home include Pigeon Lake and Academy Theatre.
Bay Ranch Lodge and Equestrian Centre - 23 min drive - 19.1 km
Fenelon Falls - 40 min drive - 36.6 km
Balsam Lake - 49 min drive - 46.6 km
Shadow Lake - 49 min drive - 46.6 km
Restaurants
Tim Hortons - 40 min drive
The Cow and Sow - 39 min drive
Texas Burger & Donut Shop - 40 min drive
Murphy’s Lockside Pub & Patio - 40 min drive
Subway - 40 min drive
About this property
Entire place
You'll have the entire home to yourself and will only share it with other guests in your party.
Sunset Special - Fish/Swim/Relax
Clean bright open concept waterfront home located on Trent Severn waterway /2bedroom-sleeps up to 8. Parking for 2-3 located @ the end of a quiet private road. Access from Heights Road ONLY ! Wooded hillside lot provides shade and exercise Stunning lake sunsets from deck or dock! public boat launch Kennedy bay road next con. over.Shopping @ Dunsford 10 min. LCBO / variety . Restaurant shopping and views of locks Lindsay / Bobcaygeon 20 min, each way
PS board games & puzzles provided for long stays and rainy days ! ENJOY
Carbon monoxide detector (host has indicated there is a carbon monoxide detector on the property)
Smoke detector (host has indicated there is a smoke detector on the property)
Policies
Check-in
Check-in time starts at 4:00 PM
Minimum check-in age - 22
Check-out
Check-out before 10:00 AM
Special check-in instructions
You will receive an email from the host with check-in and check-out instructions
Pets
No pets allowed
Children and extra beds
Children are welcome.
Important information
You need to know
Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy
Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges
Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed
On-site parties or group events are strictly prohibited
Host has indicated that there is a carbon monoxide detector on the property
Host has indicated that there is a smoke detector on the property
This property is managed through our partner, Vrbo. You will receive an email from Vrbo with a link to a Vrbo account, where you can change or cancel your reservation
Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.
A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.
Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.
This property is managed by a private host, not a professional engaged in trade or business.
On-site parties or group events are strictly prohibited. For guests' safety, the property includes a carbon monoxide detector and a smoke detector in all accommodation.
Frequently asked questions
Does Sunset Special - Fish/Swim/Relax have a pool?
No, this holiday home doesn't have a pool.
Is Sunset Special - Fish/Swim/Relax family-friendly?
You bet! With amenities such as a BBQ, highchairs and children's dinnerware, it's no surprise that Sunset Special - Fish/Swim/Relax is a winner with our family travellers.
Is there a free airport shuttle available at Sunset Special - Fish/Swim/Relax?
No, Sunset Special - Fish/Swim/Relax does not offer an airport shuttle service.
What time are check-in & check-out at Sunset Special - Fish/Swim/Relax?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM. Check-out time is 10:00 AM.
Are pets allowed at Sunset Special - Fish/Swim/Relax?
No, pets are not allowed.
Sunset Special - Fish/Swim/Relax Reviews
Reviews
8.8
Excellent
All reviews shown are from real guest experiences. Only travellers who have booked a stay with us can submit a review. We verify reviews according to our guidelines and publish all reviews, positive or negative.
Rating 10 - Excellent. 18 out of 31 reviews
10 - Excellent
18
Rating 8 - Good. 9 out of 31 reviews
8 - Good
9
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 31 reviews
6 - Okay
1
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 31 reviews
4 - Poor
2
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 31 reviews
2 - Terrible
1
9.0/10
Cleanliness
10/10
Amenities
8.0/10
Property conditions & facilities
Reviews
10/10 Excellent
Amedeo S., Courtice, Canada
22 Sept 2024
Liked: Cleanliness
Peaceful lakeview cottage
Veary peaceful and reaxing Lakeview cottage is vary spacious and clean with lots of games and a TV for your entertainment..
Beautiful deck overlooking the lake.
Amedeo S.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2024
4/10 Poor
KC H.
16 Sept 2024
Nice place - not worth dealing with the host
The building was as pictured and suitable to relax in but overall we had a very negative experience. The sofa bed in the living room was unusable and we had to bring and use our own mattress for our stay. Stephen’s communications with us were erratic, unintelligible, and, in several instances, extremely hostile (e.g. blowing up personal phone lines & refusing to write using official VRBO channels). The house rules were innumerable and made enjoying our stay very difficult. Stephen was difficult to reach and refused to answer questions, and he harassed us aggressively after our stay because of some miscommunications over the house rules.
KC H.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2024
10/10 Excellent
Neal P.
29 Aug 2024
Liked: Cleanliness
Beautiful Property
We had a great stay, place was clean, well stocked, everything worked perfectly. Beautiful views of the lake, very private, didn't see another soul aside from those on the water. Amazing price for being so close to Toronto.
Neal P.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2024
10/10 Excellent
Sherry S.
26 Aug 2024
Liked: Cleanliness
Mini getaway
Had a nice relaxing time at this cottage with my family. Close to the lake and had a beautiful view from the back. Catch some fish from the lake and was very happy.
Thanks
Sherry S.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2024
10/10 Excellent
Dima898989 G.
22 Aug 2024
Liked: Cleanliness
Great cozy waterfront property
Very peaceful and clean. We had a great time, thanks.
Dima898989 G.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2024
8/10 Good
Shailja G.
20 Aug 2024
Liked: Cleanliness
Great experience
We had a great time staying at this property, I caught one of the amazing sunsets here.
Shailja G.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2024
10/10 Excellent
Verified traveller
8 Aug 2024
Liked: Cleanliness
Excellent vacation!
The whole process was easy, we were totally satisfied with the property. Had a fabulous stay. Great location!
Verified traveller
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2024
10/10 Excellent
Elizabeth A.
1 July 2024
Liked: Cleanliness
Simple and fun
Had a wonderful time at Stephen’s cottage for Canada Day weekend! We had everything we needed and more for a great stay. The dock was great to sit and fish off of during the day and the views off the deck were incredible. Swimming by the dock is fine too as long as you’re careful on the rocks. The pull out couch in the living room was broken but we had brought an air mattress so it wasn’t a problem and there is another pull out couch downstairs that works.
Elizabeth A.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2024
10/10 Excellent
Kiera S.
26 June 2024
Liked: Cleanliness
Beautiful cottage
This cottage was even better than the pictures, it was spacious and clean. Stephen even called beforehand to ensure we had the right directions. Lots of board games and cooking supplies available. We really enjoyed our weekend getaway.
Kiera S.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2024
4/10 Poor
ARTAN B.
18 Sept 2023
Liked: Cleanliness
Very bad rating for th Property Owner, Stephen
At first I want to mention that for a question sent about 5 months ago the owner replied only two days before.
The house rules were not displayed (sitting under the reviews notebook), and were not clear regarding the garbage placings.
We had to spend our own Gigabytes (more than 30GB) for the use of TV and entertaining programs. Their staff of CDs were very old and not updated at all.
There was not a coffee machine and we had to go 15 km away to get to Tim Hortons everyday.
And the last one is that Stephen, on the day we left called me several time and kept harassing me for non existent problems, like garbage placing (just to let you know, we separated garbage regularly, but didn't sent them to a box that we didn't understand at the handwriting rules that were not clear as I mentioned above) and making up some stories that cannot happen in one or two hours after we left, like racoons (they didn't mess any of the organic we left for three days outside, but well locked in the box, so how it happened in the daylight in only two hours?).
Definitely Stephen, the owner is a bad host!
ARTAN B.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2023
8/10 Good
Karen
Travelled with partner
13 Sept 2023
Property at the end of a narrow right of way (watch out rounding the final very steep curve into the parking area). A navigation system will not lead you there. You need directions from the owner. The location is pleasing once you find and access the place. Fantastic view, very quiet. You can swim or kayak from the dock. The kitchen is well equipped, comfortable bed and nice linens. No wifi, but an extensive DVD collection and many board games. Did not view lower level.
Karen
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2023
10/10 Excellent
Nidhi P.
12 Sept 2023
Liked: Cleanliness
Enjoyed the stay
We enjoyed the stay. It was very quiet and peaceful place. The property owner had all the necessary equipments and the place was very clean.
Nidhi P.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2023
10/10 Excellent
Adrian T.
4 Sept 2023
Liked: Cleanliness
A very nice time
Our board game group had a nice time at Stephen's lovely cottage. Would do it again :)
Adrian T.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2023
8/10 Good
Verified traveller
20 Aug 2023
Liked: Cleanliness
our cottage stay
Very relaxing and peaceful stay
Verified traveller
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2023
8/10 Good
Verified traveller
18 Aug 2023
Liked: Cleanliness
Great location
The property is located on the water and the view was beautiful. It is an older cottage but there has been some renovations and updates. The place was clean and there was plenty of space for 6 people. If the owners continue to make improvements throughout and created some flat spaces on the outside to have a sitting area or play areas it would be great. The price was excellent, I would definitely stay again.
Verified traveller
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2023
10/10 Excellent
Meghan H.
16 Aug 2023
Liked: Cleanliness
Getaway weekend
We had a lovely stay. Even though the weather wasn’t the best, there was lots to keep us entertained inside. Very peaceful. Watching the storms roll on over the lake was beautiful!
Meghan H.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2023
6/10 Okay
roy a.
31 July 2023
Disliked: Cleanliness
Cottage
coild definitely use a cleaning as we had to clean floors and sgiwers before use them
Great property, great view. Mini market 5-10 driving.
Overall very happy with our stay.
Hans
10/10 Excellent
Helen W.
17 July 2023
Liked: Cleanliness
Relaxing Getaway
The views from the deck were fantastic and the cottage was comfortable, clean and cozy. We so enjoyed the couple of days relaxation at the lake that we have already re-booked to come back again!
Helen W.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2023
10/10 Excellent
Verified traveller
16 July 2023
Liked: Cleanliness
Awesome
Stephen is the perfect host. Went above and beyond. Always prompt with communications.
The place is beautiful inside and out. Tons of space. So relaxing. Perfect for a quiet getaway. It had everything you could possibly need as far as the kitchen goes. Beds were comfy. Worth every penny. Will go back as soon as possible and will highly recommend to friends and family, and anyone who is reading this. You won’t be disappointed.
Verified traveller
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2023
10/10 Excellent
Robin W., Guelph, Ontario, CANADA
11 July 2023
Liked: Cleanliness
Kawartha Lakes Kozy Kottage
This is a fantastic, spacious place to stay! Our family of eight adults comfortably stayed here for four nights. The cottage is well equipped with all the comforts of home. We enjoyed glorious views of the lake through the many big windows, and off of the bug free balcony! The concrete dock below offered a place to fish from and paddle from. This property on Sturgeon Lake is situated on a dead end street, so it is very quiet and peaceful. We loved this private little oasis and hope to return again in the future!
Robin W.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2023
2/10 Terrible
Sherry S.
7 July 2023
Liked: Cleanliness
Canceled and rescheduled
I did not go because I had to reschedule my stay and didn’t get back money as yet and not in full refund as it was not my fault. Still waiting for my refund. I have to rebook and pay again. Hopefully I get back my money.
Sherry S.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2023
8/10 Good
Jon C.
4 July 2023
Liked: Cleanliness
Delightful Stay with Fishing Fun
We recently enjoyed a really good stay at this vacation rental property. A key highlight of our trip was the fishing off the dock, which we found to be fantastic. Although the fish were mostly small, they bit consistently, which added a fun element to our stay.
As for the swimming, it was satisfactory, but future guests should take note that it's quite rocky and lacks sandy areas. Water shoes are definitely recommended for a more comfortable experience!
The only issue that we encountered was a slight musty smell in the basement. However, this didn't significantly impact our short stay of 3 nights. Despite this minor issue, we found the property to be very enjoyable and it certainly exceeded our expectations given the price.
All things considered, we would recommend this property to anyone seeking an affordable getaway with some exciting fishing opportunities. While it may not be perfect, the value it provides is unquestionable. If you're looking for an exciting and comfortable vacation, this property is a great choice!
Jon C.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2023
10/10 Excellent
Verified traveller
2 July 2023
Liked: Cleanliness
Had an amazing few days
The cottage was beautiful and the host made everything so easy. It was rainy and we still had the best time. Will definitely be back!
Verified traveller
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2023
8/10 Good
Xiaoping C.
30 June 2023
Liked: Cleanliness
Nice Vacation
We had a wonderful time and enjoyed it very much. Scenery is beautiful. The house is spacious. The location is great.
Thanks Stephen.
Jane